News Post

36 Providence Day Students Selected for NCAIS Honor Bands Clinic

Thirty-six Providence Day School students were selected to participate in the N.C. Association of Independent Schools’ High School and Middle School Honor Bands clinic, announced Dr. Michael Hough, the school's director of bands.

This was the largest contingent from any participating independent school, as well as the largest group of PDS students ever selected to participate in the clinic. The clinic allows students to perform with large concert bands made up of the most talented concert band musicians from other NCAIS independent schools throughout the state. The Honor Bands performed under the musical direction of conductors Tanya Murphy and Dominic Talanca.

Joining the Middle School Honors Band:

Shaurya Bharadwaj, Alto Sax - 3rd Chair
Chandler Brooks, Tuba - 2nd Chair
Annabelle Cicoletti, Clarinet - 8th Chair
Dev Dwivedy, Euphonium - 3rd Chair
Lauren France, Flute - 8th Chair
Ella Gedeon, Flute - 10th Chair
Kendall Grace, Clarinet - 10th Chair
Quincy Grier, Percussion - 2nd Chair
Ian Hamilton, Clarinet - 4th Chair
Stephen Hancock, Trombone - 6th Chair
Brandon Hollis, Trombone - 5th Chair
Kai-Jean Hsiao, Flute - 7th Chair
Rebecca James, Trumpet - 11th Chair
Prableen Kaur, Flute - 11th Chair
Bhoomika Khatri, Clarinet - 5th Chair
Sia Matai, Flute - 12th Chair
Conner Oglesby, Clarinet - 7th Chair
Christian Smith, Tenor Saxophone
Jameson Walsh, Percussion - 4th Chair
Jason Zawtocki, Trombone - 7th Chair
Nathan Zhang, Percussion - 3rd Chair

Joining the Upper School Honors Band:

Camryn Anders, Bassoon - 1st Chair
Will Broderdorp, Trumpet - 7th Chair
Carter Craig, Percussion - 6th Chair (Mallets)
Luke Dyer, Trumpet - 12th Chair
Owen Fix, Tuba - 3rd Chair
Alex Hobby, Alto Sax - 2nd Chair
Ellis Jacobs, Oboe - 1st Chair
Steven James, Euphonium - 3rd Chair
Theodore Katz, Clarinet - 14th Chair
Adam Lawrence, Trumpet - 8th Chair
Matthew LePage, Trumpet - 9th Chair
Parker McRae, Clarinet - 13th Chair
Cameron Rosbrook, Baritone Sax - 2nd Chair
John Sarantou, Tuba - 2nd Chair
Leah Visbinder, Clarinet - 15th Chair

Students are selected through an application process based on criteria such as prior awards, state and regional honors ensembles, and camps.  

Learn more about Performing Arts at PDS.