News Post

Thirty Students Inducted into Cum Laude Society
Thirty Students Inducted into Cum Laude Society

Thirty Providence Day School students were inducted into the Cum Laude Society.

The induction ceremony took place before fellow students, faculty and families in the McMahon Fine Arts Center theater April 20.

Andrea Gowin, Upper School history teacher, welcomed all and introduced keynote speaker Ted Dickson, History Department chair. Eric Hedinger, Upper School Head, introcued the society's current PDS student members and spoke about the meaning of Cum Laude.

Next Dr. Glyn Cowlishaw, Head of School, presented the 15 seniors and 15 juniors with their certificates of induction into the society, an organization that honors scholastic achievement at secondary institutions.

Founded in 1906, the Cum Laude Society has grown to 382 chapters, approximately two dozen of which are located in public schools and the rest in independent schools. Membership is predominantly in the United States, but chapters also are located in Canada, England, France, Spain, Puerto Rico and the Philippines.

The society's motto is Areté, Diké, Timé, which translates from Greek into "Excellence, Justice, Honor."

Participating schools may nominate up to 20 percent of their graduating class for induction into the society.

"The students hard work, dedication and perseverance have resulted in truly superior scholarship," said Gowin.

The new Cum Laude Society members are:

Class of 2016
Carly Britt
Anna Cockrell
Amy DeCillis
Hanna Dohmen
Richard Fox
Pearson Ives
Isabelle Katz
Paige Lally
Hannah Scully
Anne Shannon
Roshnee Sharma
Kyra Swartz
Claudia Westwood
Olivia Wiedner
Martin Winton

Class of 2017
Blaire Barton
David Conlin
Ryan Corrigan
Rose Delle Fave
Taylor Gerlach
Gwendolyn Goins
Sarah Hay
Autumn Mitchell
Ashley Panousis
Emerson Porter
Dylan Riddell
Manley Roberts
Tate Rosenblatt
Mary Whelan
Victoria Xu